Journal of Bioterrorism and Biosafety

Editorial Board Member - JBBS

Lihua Song

Associate Professor
Chief, Laboratory of Rickettsiology
Beijing Institute of Microbiology and Epidemiology

Dr. Lihua Song received his bachelor’s degree in microbiology from Shandong University in 2001. After receiving his Ph.D. in military preventive medicine from the Academy of Military Medical Sciences in 2006, he joined the Beijing Institute of Microbiology and Epidemiology as an assistant professor of microbiology. In 2008, he was appointed to serve the United Nations’ Mission in Liberia for eight months. He received postdoctoral training in the Laboratory of Intracellular Parasites of the Rocky Mountain Laboratories of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseasesfrom July 2010 to June 2013. He became an associate professor in 2009 and chief of the Laboratory of Rickettsiology of the Beijing Institute of Microbiology and Epidemiologyin September 2013.


Dr. Song’s research focuses on the biology, pathogenesis, and immunity of Rickettsia, Coxiella and Chlamydia. All these three intracellular prokaryotic parasites contain Category A and B bioterrorism agents. His long-term goal is to define their virulence factors important for bacterial evasion of innate host defense mechanisms, to define mechanisms of adaptive protective immunity, and to design new therapeutic strategies for the prevention of human intracellular bacterial infections.

Other Editorial Board Members - JBBS

HamidReza Naderi

Associate Professor
Department of Infectious Diseases
Imam Reza University Hospital

Peter Anderson

Adjunct Associate Professor
Pharmacy Practice
University of Rhode Island
United States

Charles O. Thoen

College of Veterinary Medicine
Iowa State University
United States

Edward Joseph Bottone

Emeritus Professor
Department of Infectious Diseases
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
United States

Riyadh Khudhair Lafta Al-Juboori

College of Medicine
Mustansiriya University

Wen-Quan Zou

Associate Professor
Departments of Pathology and Neurology
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
United States

Massimo Ciccozzi

Department of biostatistics and viruses evolution
National Institute of Health

Robert R. Redfield

Department of Immunology and Microbiology
University of Maryland
United States

Lela Bakanidze

Georgian Biosafety Association

Barbara Anne Curbow

Department of Behavioral and Community Health
School of Public Health
University of Maryland
United States
Submit Manuscript

Open Access Journals

View All Journals